Tags

, , , ,

  1. Identify a judgment about yourself, someone else, or some situation: I am bad at self-control.
  2. Describe your reasons for letting go of this judgment: I have good self-control under the right circumstances.
  3. Replacement the judgments with descriptions of facts, consequences, and/or your preferences about this: ADHD and bipolar make me impulsive; it is a symptom and not a character flaw.
  4. Practice accepting the nonjudgmental descriptions and letting go of the judgments. Identify the words, actions, body postures, or imagery that helps you let go: I can do better.
  5. Remember not to judge your judging! ???
  6. Describe any changes you noticed in your acceptance or your emotions as you practice nonjudgmental stance: Relieved that there is a reason for my impulsivity but frustrated and sad that I have not overcome it.

In other news…

I have an appointment with a new psychiatrist tomorrow. Or more precisely, with an LPN at the new psychiatrist’s practice. Finally!

I can already tell that this is going to be a much better doctor. They sent me a packet with no less than 11 forms to fill out prior to my first appointment. They include patient demographics, 2 pages of personal history symptoms, medication information, a depression questionnaire, an anxiety questionnaire, the Epworth Sleepiness Scale, the Fatigue Severity Scale, a patient treatment contract, an authorization for treatment, HIPAA consent, and informed consent. I had very few such forms at Dr. Suspicioustwit’s office, and had to fill them out at the first appointment rather than saving a lot of time by filling out forms in advance.

I also have a full hour for my first appointment, as opposed to the half hour at the old psych’s office. Overall this is really encouraging, but I’m still a bit nervous about the whole thing.

