Tags

, , , ,

DeeDee:

Finally, another Canvas post!

Originally posted on A Canvas Of The Minds:

DeeDee newI think we all compartmentalize our lives and identities to some degree. Most people only realize it when their social worlds, family, and professional connections start to come together on Facebook. I’ve always been conscious of it.

No one who knew this girl would recognize her now.

Much like everyone else, I have slightly different identities among friends, at work, at home, on the road, in the blogosphere, and from days past. In each stage of school, I went by a different nickname, and my friends and husband use a nickname while my family and current professional colleagues use my full name.

For the mentally ill, however, that compartmentalizing gets even more complex. The desire to keep certain contacts apart is stronger – some of my trusted friends know about my bipolar, but I don’t want it known among coworkers. My family doesn’t even know about my diagnosis, but the…

View original 412 more words

