Tags

, , , , , , , ,

At my last psych appointment, I had a cheek swab for genetic testing. We’re going to find out once and for all how my body performs on a few receptors that are key to processing pharmaceuticals! Quite awhile back I had dared hope my next doc would do this, and I’m pleased to find that they do. My hope is that this will streamline future medication experimentation.

The meds cocktail, it’s a-changin’.

At the moment, I don’t know how to interpret how my body reacts to some drugs. Strattera was awful, and I suspect I was absorbing that drug at an abnormally slow rate, causing it to build up to toxic levels in my system. But it’s really hard for me to evaluate whether meds are working as well as they could because my body might be absorbing them faster/slower and I don’t even realize they ought to work better than they do or with fewer side effects. In any case, the genetic testing should tell me what to expect with certain types of meds, and what dosage ranges are most appropriate. Based on that we can tweak my meds more productively – plus it’s a one-time investment!

The most recent changes have included a switch in dosing and dosage for Adderall XR, experimenting with brand-name Wellbutrin XL to see if it does differently/better than generic, and trying a higher dose of sertraline. The Adderall change is all good, provided I remember my second dose – and I bought a wristwatch with an alarm to ensure that I would. The brand-name Wellbutrin will be a tale for another post, but it does seem better. I’m waiting until I run out of 50mg sertraline tablets so I can separate effects of Wellbutrin from effects of changing sertraline to 100mg. I can’t very effectively evaluate what’s causing improvements/side effects unless I make these changes one at a time.

One thing at a time. It grates on my nerves most of the time, but it’s also what mindfulness is all about. Better learn to love it then, eh?

