Tags

, , , , ,

Netflix finally delivered the disc, and we got to watch Silver Linings Playbook.

I really didn’t know how to react to it then, and I still don’t. It was a good movie, with good acting and storyline and production quality and all that. I guess that to some extent, I feel that it did the portrayal of bipolar a bit of injustice by not showing anything of the depressive part of the illness.

I suspect that was why it was hard for me to connect to it. I kept looking for something I could associate with in the main character’s struggles, and it was only there in one moment. That moment in the psychiatrist’s waiting room, when he starts tearing things up in fury after being deliberately triggered, and then immediately turns around with the saddest, most pained look on his face, and starts to apologize. He doesn’t want to be that way. Just like I don’t want to be this way. I hate constantly apologizing for (or hiding) whatever bad behavior or other failure on my part that has tripped me up this time.

Other than that, it was like any other good story in which someone with mental illness makes a new life because he tries like the dickens and has a network of people who care about him. It’s like any other such film – a happy ending that isn’t so realistic for most of us, but it’s what we want for the characters. And the message is a good one.

