Tags

, , ,

As expected, the PA whom I saw yesterday agrees with everyone else’s diagnosis. I might as well have been reading off her poster about bipolar disorder rather than my own list of symptoms.

So that’s settled. Good. Well, not so good, but that’s the way it is. It only took 15 years between symptoms showing up and diagnosis, which is a little longer than average, probably because I’ve managed my life well enough to minimize the damage.

Based on that dx, the first thing to do is change meds. So I’m reducing the amount of Wellbutrin that I’m taking back down to 300 mg, and hoping that will also reduce the amount of excessive sweating, dry scalp, anxiety, and dry mouth.

Yesterday I got started on lamotrigine, the generic for Lamictal, which is an anticonvulsant. Hey, if it makes my brain stop having mood seizures, great! Especially if it doesn’t give me The Rash (which can be fatal.)

So far, so good. I was told to take it in the evening but it was making me distinctly Not Sleepy last night, so we’ll see how it goes for the next couple days – if it doesn’t make me drowsy, I might take it in the morning instead. I’ve been super-scattered today, though, more than usual. I’m doing more things at once and finishing fewer of them. Pretty typical hypomanic symptoms for me, but Lamictal can be “activating” that way.

The next step is an ADHD test when I go back in 3 weeks for a meds check. Apparently they have some computer-based test. It will be nice to get that dx settled as well. Even though bipolar was masquerading as depression + ADHD, that doesn’t mean that I don’t have ADHD, as do several of my immediate family members.

So. I finally have some sense of certainty with this dx. That in itself is a relief. Here’s hoping there will be a clearer path forward now that this much has been figured out.

