Tags

, , , , , ,

I decided to move this blog over to WordPress because the features are better for supporting blogging rather than occasional “throw stuff up on the web” postings. However, the Posterous importer for WordPress is currently broken, so I’m waiting on them fixing their importer. It’s a good thing I have a lot of work to do right now, or else I’d move it manually out of impatience, and that would be a silly thing to do.

Anyway, when that happens, I’ll post something to let folks know where the action is at.

In the meantime, I’ve increased both mood stabilizers and antidepressants. I just wasn’t doing very well on the lower dose of antidepressants. Since then, things have been going pretty well! I’ve been mostly functional, despite the headaches that come with dosage changes – Wellbutrin in particular seems to give me headaches for a long time when upping the dose. But it’ll go away eventually.

Of course, I have no faith at all that this is going to last. It never has before, after all. If this round of med changes follows the prior pattern, then I’ll be down in the dumps in another week, crying for no reason, and struggling to work. If that doesn’t happen, then I’ll be thrilled!

I have an appointment with the PA at the psych’s office tomorrow, and I suspect I know what the outcome will be – no immediate changes, but permission to up the Lamictal to 200mg if needed in another week. And maybe a small increase in the Adderall dose. I can tell it’s wearing off a little earlier than I’d like, but this XR formulation is about a million times better than the immediate-release version in terms of managing inattention throughout the day. I’m also betting that they’ll have me do a urine test, since I was already given an extension on that. I’ve only been completely clean for two weeks, so it’d come back positive, so hopefully they’re looking for improvement over baseline rather than a negative result…

Another little improvement that I haven’t wanted to mention lest I jinx something is that the meds changes are altering my appetite, for the better. I’m no longer hungry all the time, and I’m not binge eating; combined with quitting pot, I’ve cut my intake way, way down. Not to unhealthy levels or anything, but actually much closer to normal! The net result so far is that I’ve lost a few pounds while being more sedentary than I’ve been in months. I’m not constantly eating too much because I’m not hungry all the time. Hurrah!

I’m trying to take full advantage of this period of relative stability and cognitive functionality by working my little brains out. I have big ugly deadlines looming, so this is making a huge difference in both getting stuff done, and feeling like it’s actually possible to finish in time to meet the hard deadlines. Here’s hoping, anyway.

