Tags

, , ,

Taking a cue from Ms. Lulu Sunshine over at As the Pendulum Swings, I’m going to blog for mental health this year. That’s what this blog is about anyway!

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

Brief Mental Health Bio

I’ve struggled with mental illness since age 12. I was first diagnosed with clinical depression at age 13, but antidepressants only took the edge off the worst depressions and it never really went away. An ADD diagnosis was added at age 23. Stress and world travel led to the appearance of clearly hypomanic symptoms in graduate school, and I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder II at age 33, with the ADD diagnosis re-confirmed.

The bipolar diagnosis and treatment have given me substantial insight into my life and an opportunity to forgive and accept things I had never understood about myself. I am finally getting relief from symptoms that I never realized were symptoms and never expected could be improved. Knowing that I’m bipolar, learning about this illness, and getting proper treatment has dramatically improved my life and renewed my confidence that I can fulfill my dreams.

I hope someday to be “out” with my mental illness and open about it. I hope that the stigma of bipolar disorder will be reduced enough in my lifetime to feel that I could tell others what’s really going on without fearing backlash. I’m not there yet. Society isn’t there yet. But blogging about my mental illness means that I’m one more voice in the wilderness that can offer hope to other sufferers and promote understanding.

I’m new to the madosphere, so I don’t know many bloggers in this space but I’ve found these interesting, insightful, and/or well written:

  1. The Bipolar Project
  2. If You’re Going Through Hell Keep Going
  3. Jumpstarting a Life with a Little Spark to the Head
  4. My Crazy Bipolar Life
  5. Confessions of a Serial Insomniac
