Tags

, , , , ,

Graduating was a big deal, but now it’s done. I’ve had my little vacation. It’s time to go back to work. Today. Cue: PANIC!

Graduation isn’t the end of the panic… Also, Savage Chickens is awesome! Cartoon ©2012 by Doug Savage.

I don’t exactly know what I’ll be doing. I don’t know if I’ll get business cards, when my email will be turned on, when I’ll get paid (and how often), who will pay for my technology, how much travel will be covered, how often I’ll have to go in to the office, or even the precise nature of my job duties, beyond a general sense of it. And I don’t know what I don’t know, which is the most distressing part of all.

It’s a perfect storm for anxiety. New jobs are huge stressors in the first place. All those unknowns don’t help. The main thing holding me together in this situation right now is that I know the people I’ll be working with, and they’re awesome. I trust them, or else this would be an enormous freak-out on my end at this point.

Here’s hoping for some answers, clarity, and a warm welcome for my first day at the new job!

