Tags

, , , , ,

My brain isn’t working. I feel thick as a post. I didn’t even realize that was a pun until an hour or two after I put it down.

Nothing worth saying. Nothing much I feel like doing either. So the recent rash of blog awards gives me an excuse for a post when I can’t thing of anything. Plus, it’s really nice of y’all to give these awards, though I don’t really feel particularly deserving right now. June just hasn’t been all that kind to me.

First, the One Lovely Blog Award from Paz and A. Patient. Thanks, ladies! So here’s another 7 random things about me…

  1. I love Greek yogurt. Love it. Especially the Chobani passion fruit and vanilla ones (with a drizzle of wildflower honey on the vanilla one.)
  2. It took me 10 years to talk Mr. Chickadee into wearing a goatee. It looks hot.
  3. I smoke American Spirit Menthol Lights. Yeah, still. I know I need to quit.
  4. I am currently watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Star Trek, and MacGuyver from season one, episode one, all the way to the end of the series.
  5. I like all kinds of berries. Except those weird long blackberries with the bitter green core and washed out over-sweet flavor.
  6. I’m seriously contemplating a return to my mid-90’s punk/grunge haircut.
  7. I’ve never been a bridesmaid.

Next, The Reader Appreciation Award from Carla Renee, Angel Fractured, and Summer Moon. Thank you all – you certainly deserved the award yourselves.

Carla’s Questions

  1. What is your favorite genre of music? Mashups.
  2. When you want dessert, what is it that you are craving? Chocolate-peanut butter ice cream.
  3. How long have you been blogging in general? 9 months. Well, I had a couple abortive attempts at blogging before, but didn’t do it with any regularity until starting this blog.
  4. What is your most favorite TV show? If not TV, movie? At the moment, Battlestar Galactica (on Netflix)
  5. Do you think you will pass this on to anyone? No, I don’t have the energy just now.

Angel’s Questions

  1. What is your favorite color? It changes from time to time. Orange, for the moment.
  2. What is your favorite animal? Dogs.
  3. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink? Diet Vernors.
  4. Facebook or Twitter? Twitter – Facebook is a minefield for me.
  5. Favorite pattern? Clapotis.
  6. Do you prefer getting or giving presents? Both, please!
  7. Favorite number? 3.1415926535…
  8. Favorite day of the week? Saturday morning – the weekend is still full of promise.
  9. Favorite flower? Trillium.
  10. What is your passion? Research, and Mr. Chickadee.

Third, The Outstanding Blogger Award, also from Angel! What a sweetie; thanks again, Angel. This one requires sharing something “important” about me. I’m trying not to be flip with a silly answer like “I’m bipolar.”

So I asked Mr. Chickadee, who said, “you’d rather be outside.” It’s a good observation, and generally true. When I can’t think of anything to do, I usually think about going somewhere outside. Even in dreary weather, I still yearn to be outdoors. When I take a day for sightseeing during my business trips, I go to National Parks, National Wildlife Refuges, and trails.

Hiking and backpacking are among my favorite ways to relax. In fact, sometimes it’s the only way I can relax: a mile down the trail into a wilderness with no cell coverage, and I can finally leave it all behind.

Over the last three years, we’ve completed both of the patch-earning trails in the Adirondacks, the Northville-Placid Trail (120 miles, south-north), and the Cranberry Lake 50 (50 miles, around a lake). If I could, I’d hike the serious long-distance trails – I could list off a dozen 100-2,200 mile trails that I’d love to tackle. In some ways, it’s ultimate simplicity, sheer endurance, and a whole lot of distress tolerance – but remarkably rewarding.

I hope we can go out next weekend…

Finally, I’m claiming the Sunshine Award out of the selection offered by theartistryofthebipolarbrain, since I could use a little sunshine right about now – thanks for that. I think this one usually comes with some questions, but if it did, I didn’t see them. I tend to miss big chunks of obvious stuff when I read under the influence of depression. 😦

And… I’m not tagging/nominating anyone. I feel like that makes me a jerk or something, but I just don’t have it in me right now.

