Tags

, , , , , ,

This week’s photo challenge, merge, brought to mind the double exposure film photos I’ve taken over the years – both intentional and accidental. Just the other week I (accidentally) discovered that the same effect can be achieved by scanning two negatives together.

But to be honest, most of my double exposure images suck, and those that don’t aren’t going to be put on an anonymous blog. So I turned to Photoshop to create a digital double exposure with photos that have implicit tensions.

The top of the Scott Monument in Edinburgh overlaid with the British Royal Coat of Arms from a fence in London. The Scots would not approve. They have their own coat of arms.

I’m not going to go into a history lesson, but the combination of the Scott Monument with the Royal Coat of Arms of the UK is a little ironic. Back around 1603 when the crowns united, the Scots got their own version of the Royal Coat of Arms, and it’s not the same as this one. Anyway, it makes for a cool image that would probably have a much more nuanced meaning if I were actually Scottish or British, rather than an American mutt.

I like what I was able to do by merging two film photos, taken two years apart with an Olympus XA on black and white film and developed at home. I reduced the opacity on both layers and then used a diamond exclusion gradient overlay at 50% opacity on the Royal Coat of Arms to keep it from taking over the sky behind the Scott Monument.

