Tags

, , , , ,

I’m not big on product promotion in general – I don’t wear clothes with logos, for example. And I have a bit of an anti-consumerist attitude that’s at odds with my consumption habits, to be honest.

But I do have some brand loyalty for those companies who make really good stuff. I’ve been wanting to make note of some of that good stuff for quite awhile, so hey, why not today? You can call it my personal voice of experience recommendations, or whatever you like. Some stuff is linked where I felt like it, but I was too lazy to link everything.

Kitchen

  • Cutco – good knives, especially if someone else buys ’em for you
  • Cuisinart – my stainless steel cookware, food processor, mixer, and immersion blender are indispensable

Beauty

  • Paul Mitchell – Awapuhi Moisture Mist, White Ginger Styling Oil
  • Redken – Extreme Anti-Snap serum
  • Burt’s Bees – lip balms, lip shimmers, Res-Q ointment
  • Tom’s of Maine – deodorants, toothpastes, especially fennel and cinnamon-clove
  • Lancome – Dual Finish foundation, light and tolerable on the rare occasion when I want to do my face

Clothes & Shoes

  • New York & Co – their jeans tend to fit my proportions well
  • EMS – outdoorsy clothes that work well both in the woods and in town
  • SmartWool – I am addicted to their socks
  • Keen Shoes – Presidio sneakers, Venice H2 sandals, other styles when I can afford them; my go-to casual footwear
  • Dansko – my dressy shoe option for sandals and clogs; currently have a pair of Lotus in red, but need to get new sandals
  • Freya – pretty bras that actually fit, due to their extended size range
  • Bravissimo & Pepperberry – lovely clothes and lingerie for a full range of body shapes and sizes; I visit every time I’m in the UK

Outdoors & Travel

  • Osprey – fantastic backpacking packs and wheeled travel luggage; have never regretted upgrading to Osprey bags. I have three Vector/Slipstream series suitcases, which covers every possible travel contingency.
  • Kleen Kanteen – my everyday water bottle
  • Sea to Summit – numerous outdoor goodies, but especially the tarp-ponchos and kitchen sinks
  • Tom Bihn – my knitting bag, my main backpack, and my iPad bag are all Tom Bihn bags. They’re awesomely designed and very sturdy; well worth the cost of upgrading and all the add-on organizey bits

Electronics & Cameras

  • Apple – what can I say? I have an iPhone, iPad, MacBook Air (university issue), and iMac. They are good to me.
  • Olympus – I got into photography with the Olympus OM system, and now use an Olympus EP-2 for my digital photography
  • Kodak – D-76 and HC110 developers

Other

And then there are the things I dream of owning…

  • Stickley furniture
  • Bose audio equipment
